Thursday, August 16, 2007

You still don't tell me why and no reply-y-y-y

Meet the gay and Eurotrash Stars on 45 redux, Bearforce1. Damned if my jaded post-bear ass didn't have a giggle at them in spite of myself. Bonus points for the muscle twink who is, judging by the angle of his trucker hat, about to fuck shit up.

Wednesday, August 01, 2007

Ghetto Blaster

My July mix goes out to the highly esteemed Astro, who once sent me some fantastic mixes.

the tracks:
1. Donny Hathaway - The Ghetto
2. Macy Gray - Ghetto Love
3. Håkan Lidbo - Sexy Robot
4. Morgan Heritage & Bounty Killer - Guns in the Ghetto
5. Dolly Parton - In the Ghetto
6. The Chemical Brothers - We Are the Night
7. Amp Fiddler & George Clinton - Waltz of a Ghetto Fly
8. Rick James - Ghetto Life
9. Simian Mobile Disco - It's the Beat
10. Laura Nyro - Stoned Soul Picnic
11. Salem Al Fakir - Dream Girl
12. The Spinners - Ghetto Child
13. Justice - Phantom Part I
14. The 5th Dimension - Paper Cup
15. Owusu & Hannibal - Watch Watch (Girls)
16. Prince - Chelsea Rogers
17. George Benson - The World is a Ghetto

Donny Hathaway was a soul singer, songwriter, pianist, arranger and producer. He is known for his solo work and his duets with Roberta Flack. "The Ghetto" appeared on his 1970 debut Everything is Everything.

Known for her distinctive raspy voice, Macy Gray defied convention to become a successful singer, songwriter, producer and actress. "Ghetto Love" is from her 2007 album Big.

Swedish producer Håkan Lidbo is a versatile composer of electronic music encompassing tech house, disco, electro, dub, synthpop and other genres. "Sexy Robot" is the title track from his 2002 release.

Morgan Heritage is a group comprised of the children of reggae singer Denroy Morgan. "Guns in the Ghetto" features Bounty Killer and can be found on the 2001 compilation 500% Dynamite.

Country singer, movie and TV star, and theme park owner Dolly Parton needs no introduction. "In the Ghetto" can be heard on 2003's The Bluegrass Collection.

UK electronic music producer duo The Chemical Brothers are leading proponents of the big beat sound who rose to fame amid the great "electronica" hype of the late nineties. "We Are the Night" is the title track from their 2007 release.

Amp Fiddler is the Detroit singer, songwriter, keyboardist and producer who worked with Parliament and Funkadelic. "Waltz of a Ghetto Fly" features George Clinton and is the title track from his 2004 solo debut.

Rick James revitalized Motown Records in the late seventies and early eighties with his fresh funk sound and outlandish style. "Ghetto Life" is from his 1981 magnum opus Street Songs.

Simian Mobile Disco are a duo of British producers known for their electro-house remixes. "It's the Beat" appears on their 2007 debut Attack Decay Sustain Release.

Laura Nyro was a singer-songwriter who blended pop, rock, jazz, R&B and show tunes into her own singular style. Best known as a composer, her songs became hits for The 5th Dimension, Barbra Streisand and other artists. "Stoned Soul Picnic" is from her 1968 LP Eli and the Thirteenth Confession.

Swedish singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Salem Al Fakir began as a child prodigy violinist. His music encompasses pop, soul, classical, jazz, folk and more. "Dream Girl" can be heard on his 2007 debut album This Is Who I Am.

Though they were the definitive Philly Soul group, The Spinners actually formed at my adopted hometown's Ferndale High School just outside Detroit in 1954. "Ghetto Child" appeared on their 1972 self-titled LP.

French duo Justice blend rock and dance music into highly accessible productions. "Phanton Part I" is from their acclaimed debut aka Cross.

The 5th Dimension flirted with psychedelic soul while remaining rooted in sunny California pop. "Paper Cup" can be heard on their 1967 LP The Magic Garden. "Paper Cup" was written by Jimmy Webb, who also wrote "Wichita Lineman," "Up, Up and Away," "MacArthur Park," and "By the Time I Get to Phoenix."

Danish duo Owusu & Hannibal make music inspired by R&B, funk and broken beat. "Watch Watch (Girls)" appeared on their 2006 debut Living with Owusu & Hannibal.

Prince... you know who he is, right? "Chelsea Rodgers" is from his brand new album Planet Earth.

George Benson is a jazz guitarist and singer whose hits include "Give Me the Night," Turn Your Love Around," and "This Masquerade." "The World is a Ghetto" can be heard on his 1976 album In Flight.